How to Delete Saved Messages on iPhone

With the passage of time, messages and message attachments take up huge storage on your phone. This will create problems for your device in the future. This article discusses two different methods to delete saved messages from your iPhone.

Saved Messages on iPhone

All messages are saved on your device by Apple. Whenever you open up a conversation, iPhone lets you access your entire messages record with a contact. This feature is useful but sometimes it makes problems when storage space is full. You can use a third-party app named iBackupBot to delete the messages from your iPhone. Additionally, you can also change the message settings on your iPhone to delete messages.

How to Delete Saved Messages on iPhone

Delete Saved Messages on iPhone Using Settings App

You can delete saved messages by using the settings app. This app can only delete messages that are older than 30 days rest of them remain on the iPhone.

Step-1

Go to settings.

Step-2
Tap on messages.

Step-3
Then tap on Keep Messages.

Step-4
Then go to the list of options and then tap on 30 days.

Step-5
Then a pop-up message will appear on your screen. The message says ‘Do you want to delete messages older than 30 days’. Click on the delete button.

This method is longer than the previous one but it can remove all of your messages and message attachments at once.

Step-1

Download iBackupBot on your PC.

Step-2
Then connect your iPhone to the computer via USB cable.

Step-3
Then open iTunes and backup your iPhone to the system by using iTunes.

Step-4
After backing up your iPhone to your computer and setup iBackupBot. Follow the steps mention below to remove all the messages by using this app.

Step-5
Launch the iBackupBot app on your PC.

Step-6
Go to the attachment folder of your iPhone backup by following the path System Files/Media Domain/Library/SMS/Attachments.

Step-7
Now double click on the System files and then go to MediaDomain>Library>Attachment.

Step-8
Now you can see the folders with different names on the right-side of the iBackupBot screen.

Step-9
These folders contain your saved message, pictures, and other attachments.

Step-10
Delete all the folders by clicking on the Delete icon.

Step-11
After clicking on the delete button you will see a pop-up message that confirms you to delete those folders. Click on the delete button to delete all of them.

Restore Backup

This step is used to restore the backup that you just edited by using iBackupBot app.

Step-1

Expand ‘SMS’ from the sidebar menu of iBackupBot.

Step-2

Then click on the ‘Attachments’ from the right side of the iBackupBot.

Step-3

Then click on the restore button.

Step-4

After clicking on the restore button you will see a popup window with 3 restore options.

Step-5

The first 2 options remain checked and unchecked the third option.

Step-6

Lastly, click on the OK button to restore the backup.

Categories How To